Journalist Barrett Brown sentenced to 63 months, his allocution/sentencing statement

Denver Anarchist Black Cross

B8IrIZ9CAAAlkZP.jpg:large
On 1/22 journalist Barrett Brown was sentenced to 63 months in federal prison, and to pay $890K in restitution

https://freebarrettbrown.org/

Barrett Brown’s allocution / sentencing statement

Good afternoon, Your Honor.

The allocution I give today is going to be a bit different from the sort that usually concludes a sentencing hearing, because this is an unusual case touching upon unusual issues. It is also a very public case, not only in the sense that it has been followed closely by the public, but also in the sense that it has implications for the public, and even in the sense that the public has played a major role, because, of course, the great majority of the funds for my legal defense was donated by the public. And so now I have three duties that I must carry out. I must express my regret, but I must also express my gratitude. And…

View original post 2,992 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

